April goals.

You may have noticed I didn’t do a post for my goal progress last month. I spent the first half of March depressed as the dickens, and only started to feel like my cheery self again last week/this weekend.

March yearly goal progress:

. Worked out regularly (4-6 times per week). Mix of running, dance, skating, weight lifting, and stretching.
. Baked a few times. I made a fun and tasty breakfast cake, green velvet cupcakes, adorable bird’s nests, some delicious white chocolate-toffee cookies (will do a post, if any readers are interested), and another skillet cookie. I didn’t post most of the stuff I made, but I did make stuff.
. I think I’ll declare March the month of the spinach salad. One of my New Year’s resolutions was to eat salad for lunch at least 3x a week, and I have been owning it. My favorite salad: Spinach + chunks of sweet or tart fruit (apples, pears, grapes or raisins) + some nuts + protein + poppy seed dressing. The possibilities are endless, and every salad tastes great!
. I am on track with my money saving goals, and I haven’t gone over on my clothing budget. Much. I think I’m over by $5. I was also very responsible and returned a wonderful $56 Smashbox face product that I really, really didn’t want to return.
. I read up on my camera, learned a couple Photoshop tutorials, and learned some photography tips. I still have a lot to learn, but I did get started!
. I balanced out my eating habits, for the most part. My sweet tooth is still a little overzealous (love that word!), but I’m just going with the flow. I know I’ll be a few pounds heavier for a little while, but I also know I’ll eventually stop craving sugar so often. It’s only a matter of time.

Wow. Looking at it, I had a really decent month, especially considering how bluuuuugh and depressed I was. Not bad at all!

Improvements for April:

. Priority goal: Spending less time sitting on my booty. As lovely as my booty is, I spend far too much time on it. I’m going to make an effort to spend only 1 hr on the computer per evening (set a timer), and find stuff to do that keeps me active. Examples: Helping Jordan with dinner prep, crafting, cleaning, baking, exploring, exercise. I have had a hard time with this goal in the past, but gotta keep trying!
. Have 4 recipes ready to bake and blog about for the month, including one cake/cookie decorating opportunity.
. Jordan and I have been doing “restaurant experience” meals at home, since we don’t eat out much anymore. That’s how it is when you need to save big $$ for a down payment on a house. These fancy dinner nights are so much fun, and they’re great for breaking up the weekly dinner routine. I’m wondering if I should start blogging them. I’ll take pictures and write a couple of test blog posts, see what happens.
. I want to work on getting my blog known. I don’t advertise my blog, and I don’t really comment on the blogs I read. I’m not sure what I’m afraid of, but if I want people to start reading and commenting on my blog, I need to start letting people know I have one!
. Spend less money at Starbucks. The solution is simple: drink more coffee at home, and go to Starbucks less. I shouldn’t be going more than twice per paycheck.

That should be enough to keep me busy (hah, totally typed “busty”) for the month.
Do you have any monthly goals? How are your New Years’s Resolutions/ Yearly Goals doing?

3 comments

  1. I read your blog! You have a follower in me! Keep it up, I love your recipes 🙂 And I think you should share your “fancy dinner nights”. I loved your restaurant posts!

    1. Thanks so much! 🙂
      For you, I will try posting the dinner night recipes haha.

      1. haha awesome!

Leave a comment