12 Days of Christmas: Shortbread Acorns with Caramel.

Did I mention that I recently got hit in the head and completely lost the ability to count to 12?
It’s tragic, really.
Just kidding. I’m a victim of my own poor planning, and got swamped with Christmas stuff like everyone else. But I thought I should go down swingin’.

These are my favorite item from my Christmas baking this year. It may seem like I say that a lot, but these little cuties are the real deal. It’s a shaped shortbread cookie, dipped in caramel, then rolled in nuts. The result is an adorable, delicious acorn!

Make these for a tasty and unique treat.

Ingredients: (for 46 cookies)

Recipe is from Woman’s Day Christmas Cookies, Candies & Cakes.

½ cup butter, softened
1/3 cup brown sugar
2 egg yolks
1 cup chopped nuts (I used pecans.)
1 ½ tsp vanilla
½ tsp baking powder
¼ tsp salt
1 ¾ cups flour
½ cup chocolate sprinkles/jimmies
1 pkg Kraft classic caramels
1 ½ tbsp water

1. Preheat oven to 350F and line cookie sheet with parchment paper.
2. Beat butter, sugar, and egg yolks until fluffy. Mix in ½ cup of chopped nuts, the vanilla, baking powder and salt.
3. Gradually mix in flour until a soft dough forms. Don’t worry, it will seem crumbly at first, but it will pull together.
4. Roll rounded teaspoons of dough into little balls. Shape into little mountains (acorns) with a pointed top. Place point up, 1 inch apart on your prepped cookie sheet. Bake for 14 minutes, the bottoms will be golden brown. Cool completely on a rack.
5. Mix together the remaining nuts and chocolate jimmies. Finely chop, using a food processor or a Slap Chop (yes, I actually own one of those). Pile into a deep bowl or form into a little mountain on parchment paper.
6. Melt the caramel and water in the microwave or over low heat in a pot. I would suggest using MORE than the 1 ½ tbsp of water, because my caramel was outrageously sticky and nearly caused a mental breakdown.
7. When your caramel is melted, dunk an acorn cookie in. Use a fork to turn it and make sure it’s completely coated, then lift the cookie with the fork and scrape excess caramel against the edge of the pot.
8. My recipe book says to “use a fork to scrape the acorn into the chopped nut mixture, coating the bottom”. This did not work for me at allllll, it just ended in a caramel all over the place, messy-looking acorns, and possibly tears. Eventually I just stuck a toothpick into the top of the cookie and swirled it in the chopped nut mixture, which was much more effective for me.
9. Transfer the finished acorns to another sheet of parchment paper, and refrigerate to help set the caramel.

Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays! (Anyone else singing NSYNC in their head right now? No, just me? Ah.)

2 comments

  1. Aww i didnt see these til now! I’ll definitely be doing your baking recipes next year!

  2. Thanks for the comment on my post. The “crack bread” is from the Harvest Bakery on Grant (also the source of the ready-to-bake croissants that we made for Christmas breakfast). I made a typo in the post though – the “crack bread” is actually multigrain sourdough, not sourdough rye. Regardless, it’s extremely tasty.

Leave a Reply

