grow: your word.

At the moment, I’m reading the book Eat Pray Love.
I know it’s inappropriate since I’m not going through a mid-life crisis, but so far I’m enjoying the book.
(I also did not realize that Bake Eat and Grow is dangerously close to Eat Pray Love, and now I feel stupid.)

In Italy, Liz learns about cities, people, and the single word that describes them.
For example, Rome’s is SEX. Sicily’s is FIGHT. Stockholm’s is CONFORM. New York City is ACHIEVE.
I believe Liz’s word in this section is PLEASURE.

I started to wonder what my word is.
I’m at the point in my life where I’m curious and learning about everything.
(Everything except drugs and booze, thank God. That was in high school.)
What do I love to do in my spare time? What do I think I want to do as a career? Where do I want to travel when I can? What should I do while I’m still young? Do I like red wine that isn’t 8 dollars a bottle? Do I like unusual flavor combinations (like chocolate and chili)? Do I want to put effort into meditation or do I think that’s a bunch of hippie crap?

I’ve decided that my word is EXPLORE.
I want to try everything and anything. Take risks and decide later if they were worth it. Learn a mantra and meditate, only to discover later that meditation is a bunch of hippie crap (maybe). Make bold fashion choices. Read books that I will learn absolutely nothing from (I’m off to a good start, I’ve read every available Sookie Stackhouse novel).

The point of this post is to ask, what is your word?

Leave a Reply

