grow: make a decision.

“I love food and hate exercise. I don’t want to be on the cover of Playboy or Vogue. I want to be on the cover of the Rolling Stone or Q. I’m not a trend-setter… I’m a singer … I’d rather weigh a ton and make an amazing album than look like Nicole Richie and do a shit album. My aim in life is never to be skinny.”
Adele

“Happy girls are prettier.”
– Audrey Hepburn

“People always ask me, ‘You have so much confidence, where did that come from?’
It came from me. One day I decided that I was beautiful, and so I carried out my life as if I was a beautiful girl.
It doesn’t have anything to do with how the world perceives you, what matters is what you see. Your body is your temple, your body is your home, and you must decorate it.”
– Gabourey Sidibe

That last quote really hits home. I need to realize that I’m beautiful, and go on living life.
I am so tired of wasting my life trying to be thin. I want to be healthy, and I love being active, but I am so tired of wasting hours a day thinking about food and my weight.
There is so much more to life.

Who cares if my BMI is juuust barely in the “overweight” range? Is my life going to be changed forever if I run a 10K? Will everyone love me and pay attention to me if I lose 10 pounds?
No one cares. No, my life won’t change. And no, people will love me just the same.

Instead of putting brain power into calories, weight or food, I can try a delicious new recipe. I can learn to cook. I can try a fun new physical activity. I can dance my heart out. I can lose myself in a book for hours. I can paint my nails because I love seeing pretty colors on the ends of my fingers. I can laugh with my best friend. I can write. I can inspire someone. I can take pictures of myself and admire how gorgeous I am. I can simply enjoy being alive.

I really hope today is the day I decide that I am beautiful, and refuse to let my insecurities hold me back any longer.

3 comments

  1. Love this post! I personally went through the experience of losing 30 pounds through a very restrictive diet (a long time ago now), and what surprised me most was how nothing changed. I wasn’t a different person and my life wasn’t really any better. Completely not worth all the thought and energy and suffering that had gone into the weight loss. I’m glad you’ve come to that realization too – enjoy the reading of books and painting of fingernails.

    1. Thanks so much for the comment, and for telling me a little about your experience, it validated my feelings about diets and weight loss. 🙂

  2. […] honest, I do want to look slim and trim for my tropical trip in January. But I already havetons of proof that diets and “lifestyle changes” are not for me, and it’s way too easy for me to slip back into […]

Leave a Reply

