eat: Lovey’s BBQ.

I decided to try out Lovey’s after one of our owners came back from lunch raving about it. He’s a foodie too, and much pickier than I am, so I’ll try anything he recommends.

We ventured out around 8 pm, and when we got there the place was still packed. Craazy.

Lovey’s has an interesting set-up where you order and pay for your food at the counter, then you have a seat and your food is brought to you.
For some reason a lot of people don’t like this set-up. It eliminates dine n’ dashers, and you don’t have to worry about tipping, so I have no problem with it.

We got our food super fast. I actually timed it: 6 minutes. A crazy busy restaurant can have two fresh, full meals out in 6 minutes, and Desperado couldn’t manage two meals in an hour.

I had eaten pretty high fat foods all day, so I really wasn’t feeling greasy meats. Which kind of sucks, since that’s what Lovey’s is known for.

I went with chicken fingers and fries. Super creative and daring meal choice, I know.

It was actually really delicious. Everything tasted fresh. The chicken fingers were all white meat and had a nice breading, and I was really loving the honey dill sauce. I liked the fries too, they reminded me of New York Fries.


However, I wasn’t into the cornbread. It was pretty bland and not sweet enough.
I only had a few bites of coleslaw, and it was alright. It tasted like average coleslaw.

Jordan had some kind of combo platter with pulled pork and ribs. He enjoyed it, and I really wish I had taken a few bites. Argh.

We had a good experience overall. Nothing was unacceptable, no snooty servers. We’ll probably go again.
The food gets a 7/10 from me and Jordan. It’s good, but not great.

I can’t really give them a service rating since they don’t have waitresses, but every employee was friendly and we talked to the owner a little bit after Jordan used his shoe as a bottle opener on a twist-off cap. Lollllll.

Value is another good, not great. 6/10 for value.

The atmosphere is interesting. The restaurant is decorated all Southern-like, and its so hectic and noisy it almost feels like it could be a Louisiana smokehouse. Keep in mind I’ve never been in a Louisiana smokehouse.

Side note: Does anyone else loooove those Mississippi/Louisiana accents? I’ve been trying to pick up an accent from watching lots of True Blood. So far, no dice.

I would recommend Lovey’s for a fun and messy BBQ night, and I’ll totally hit it up again so I can try the greasier stuff.

Lovey's BBQ & Smokehouse on Urbanspoon

Afterwards, we went on a dessert hunt. We attempted to go to BDI, even though we saw this line-up. Holy shizzzz.

We went and stood in this line for about 10 minutes. It didn’t move at alllll, so we blew that popsicle stand.

We took some random’s advice, and went up the street to Banana Boat for ice cream. It’s a cute little shack that prides itself on using “real” ice cream. There was also a lineup out the door, but it was a cakewalk compared to BDI.
Jordan and I both got Avalanches, which is their version of a Blizzard from DQ. I went with cookie dough, Jordles got Clodhopper.

The ice cream itself was very creamy and tasty, but there was nowhere near enough cookie dough. I got like 3 chunks. NOT GOOD ENOUGH.

Jordan enjoyed his, but it’s definitely not a “best ice cream ever”. I don’t even think it got a “this is really good!” out of us.

Eh. I don’t think I’ll be going to Banana Boat again because it’s a loonggg drive for average ice cream and not enough mix-ins. Has anyone had a great experience here that I should know about?

See you around! 🙂

Leave a Reply

