weekend breakfast and product review.

Haaaay readers! Happy Monday.

I had an interesting weekend. Baked Expectations, one of my favorite dessert joints in town, is hiring bakers, so I mosied over to hippie central (Osborne Village) to apply. I really wanted to get a couple slices of cake while I was there, but the place was packed! No dice bo bice.

I figured since I was already in hippie central, I might as well have some fun and find some good food. Osborne Village may have an excess of dreadlocked hula-hooping hippies, but it also has tons of unique places to shop and eat.

Using my Blackeberry’s GPS, I eventually found myself at Stella’s Bakery on Sherbrook. They specialize in artisan breads and homey baked goods.

I nearly lost it when I saw “Brioche” on their list of pan breads.
Brioche (pronounced bree-oshe) is basically super rich bread, made with eggs and loads of butter. I’ve been trying to make it for a long time, but its really time consuming. I would rather just buy a fresh handmade loaf for $5. Which of course I did.
I also took home a loaf of raisin bread for good measure (also $5), and a Macaroon Bar ($2, I believe).

The Macaroon bar was very tasty, I would eat it again. A shortbread base with a coconutty filling, topped with chocolate ganache. My only complaint is the shortbread being just a little too oily. It gave the bar a heavy, slightly greasy taste.
3.5/5.

The raisin bread is delicious. It’s packed with plump, juicy raisins and it gets extra rich and flaky when toasted. I had a slice with leftover cream cheese icing.. Yuuuum.
4/5, it would be a 5 if it was cinnamon raisin.

The brioche. Oh goodness. If you’ve never had this bread, you should probably change that. It’s so buttery and flaky when toasted, it should qualify as a pastry. I will gladly drive down to Stella’s and pay $5 for this loaf every couple of weeks. 5/5.

Weekend Breakfast.

After wiping my tears of joy from my brioche experience, I knew I had to use it to make french toast. I even used my “fancy” Fluffy French Toast recipe.

No word of a lie, best french toast ever.

Ingredients: (for 2 servings)

. 4 slices brioche, or your favorite bread. But of course brioche will be 10000x better.
. 2 eggs
. 1/4 cup milk
. 1 tsp vanilla
. 1/8 – 1/4 cup flour
. 1 tsp baking powder
. 1 tsp sugar
. pinch of salt
. cinnamon
. butter for frying

To make:

Easy. Mix wet ingredients, then add in dry ingredients and mix.
Dredge bread in the eggy mixture, then fry in buttered pan over medium heat for 1-2 minutes.

Coat both sides with a sprinkle of sugar for a sweet little crunch, or just top with maple syrup and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

