bake: super duper cinnamon buns.

Hi everyone! Hope you’re having a great week.

We’re getting an NHL team back, so the entire city is in a hockey craze! It’s exciting. I might have to do some Jets/Falcons/hopefully not Polar Bears cookies once our team’s name is decided. 🙂

Before I get into the baking fun; I am feeling pretty frustrated diet-wise. I feel like I eat the same thing overrrr and over, which usually makes me turn to sweets at the end of the day.
I need some new ideas for healthy snacks and lunches so I can feel satisfied and leave the cookies in the jar! If you have some ideas for me, please comment. 🙂

Moving onnnn, I’ve found my go-to cinnamon bun recipe. It’s easy and reasonably fast, the buns are sweet, soft and fluffy, and all around awesome! I’ve sold a couple batches to people at work already.

My best recipes usually have something unique about them. My brownies have a high percentage of brown sugar, my chocolate chip cookies have super exact measurements and some chill time, my cheesecake ha Desiree’s culinary genius.
And now, these cinnamon buns have Jell-o pudding powder. It makes them extra soft and lightly sweet. 😀

 

Recipe from allrecipes.com, here’s the original.

Ingredients:
(for 12 large buns, even though AllRecipes says it’s 24. It’s not. That’s 24 wimpy cinnamon buns.)

To proof yeast:
4 tbsp hot water
1 tbsp sugar
2 1/4 tsp active dry yeast

Dough:
1 cup milk (warm)
1 egg
4 tbsp melted butter or oil (1/4 cup)
4 cups all purpose flour
1/2 package of vanilla pudding powder
1/2 tsp salt

Filling: (I usually end up using 1.5 of this mixture)
1/2 cup soft butter
1 cup packed brown sugar
2 tsp cinnamon

To Make:

1. To proof your yeast, mix the water, sugar and yeast together and let sit in a warm, draft-free place until foamy and giving off a strong bread-y smell. (About 10 minutes.)

2. Whisk together other wet ingredients for dough (milk, egg and oil). Then whisk in proofed yeast mixture.

3. Add in dry ingredients (flour, pudding powder and salt). Using a dough hook, mix on low speed until dough clings to hook and cleans the sides of the bowl.
Just walk away and do something else while this is happening, when you come back 5 minutes later your dough will be good to go.

4. Form dough into a ball and place in an oiled bowl, turning to grease the top. Place in a warm, draft-free place to rise until doubled in size (about 45 minutes).

5. Once dough has risen, roll out to a large rectangle on a clean, floured surface.

(I’m sorry for the goooood-awful lighting. Truly sorry.)

6. Gently spread 1/2 cup soft butter over the dough.

7. Mix the brown sugar and cinnamon together, then sprinkle and spread over dough.

8. Roll up the dough tightly.
Does anyone have tips for making sure it stays tight? My dough always has loosey-goosey spots where I lose filling.

9. Cut the dough into 1″ or 2″ slices. For perfect cuts, I use floss. Slip the floss under the roll, cross it on top, and pull in opposite directions.
And boom goes the dynamite.

10. Place rolls in greased pan. Let rise in a warm, draft-free place for 20-30 minutes.

11. Last step!!! Bake at 350F for 15-20 minutes, depending on how brown you want them.

Look how buttery and ooey-gooey-delicious these were on the bottom. I flipped them upside-down after about 20 minutes so I wouldn’t lose filling out the bottom.

Just top with some cream cheese frosting, and you’re done. Now you can make any breakfast an awesome breakfast! 😀

Or just stuff your face with cinnamon buns, regardless of mealtimes.

😀

Leave a Reply

