eat: carlos and murphy’s.

This week’s eat-spot was picked by my man, Jordan.
He selected Carlos and Murphy’s, a fun-sounding Mexican restaurant on Osbourne with decent reviews.


After getting all dolled up and waiting to get hungry, we set out for daaate night! ๐Ÿ™‚


God, I hate driving in or around the Osbourne Village area. Any Winnipegger knows where I’m coming from. Even at 7:30 pm on a Saturday night, it’s like rush hour. Ugh.
After cruising around the area for 10 minutes looking for 1) the restaurant and 2) a place to park, we walked 5 minutes and found the entrance after a little difficulty.


We were seated on the dining side immediately by a smiling host. Fast, friendly service always wins me over. ๐Ÿ™‚
Overall, the place felt pretty comfortable. The tables were spaced out well, the decor was very… Mexican?, I didn’t feel crowded, I wasn’t too hot or cold, and the lighting wasn’t crap. No complaints.

Here’s a photo of the bar, it gives you a good idea of how the interior looked.


We enjoyed a Corona and lime before our meal, and were provided free chips and salsa. ๐Ÿ™‚
Free appetizers are awesome!

Check out the menu here.

Jordan decided on the fajitas. He said they were fantastic.
They came in a big set-up with a bunch of little bowls, and a tortilla warmer.


Lookin’ goood!

I went with enchiladas, rolled around in ground beef.

Here’s the thing. This is embarrassing to admit, but I am a very cheap drunk. Very, very cheap.
Like I have one Corona before dinner and I’m a little tipsy.
You know when you’re a little tipsy, you have the attention span of a goldfish? That’s pretty much the situation I was in. I was munching away on my enchiladas, and then I would forget that I was eating, so I wasn’t as focused as I would like to be when I’m supposed to be reviewing food.

But oh well, I liked the enchiladas a lot! They were cheesy and flavourful. Jordan and I both thought they could use some more tomato in them, but that’s my only suggestion. I’ve never had enchiladas before, so I can’t compare them to anything else, but I thought they tasted great. ๐Ÿ™‚


At restaurants, I always eat until I’m just satisfied so I get lots ofย  leftovers and can relive my delicious supper at lunch on Monday.
Maybe I’ll be able to give a better review when I’m not biased by booze. ๐Ÿ˜›

Our meal and drinks were just under $50. It seems a little pricey, but it was the Coronas that jacked up the bill.

Overall, our experience at Carlos and Murphy’s was very pleasant. Good, speedy service, relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, free chips and salsa, and very tasty food!
I would give it a solid 8/10. Jordan gave it an “awesome out of 10”.
Although now I know to have my drink(s) WITH dinner next time.

That’s all for today. Check back soon, because I did TONS of baking this weekend.
. red velvet whoopie pies
. blondies and brownies
. cute pb cookie cups with nutella filling
. my own brownie-cheesecake creation for Vday

See you around. ๐Ÿ™‚
Carlos & Murphy's on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

