Snack attack.

Hi everyone!

So, as you probably know, I’m in school for Professional Baking. I absolutely love being a student, and I’m having a great time in the program. So far, I’ve learned a lot about breads, muffins & quickbreads, and I’m currently “studying” cookies.
I spend a lot of time around freshly baked, really delicious stuff. A lot of that extra stuff that we can’t sell ends up in my mouth.
I think my wonky diet is starting to take a toll on me. I’ve been feeling lethargic, bloated, and generally shitty.

Feeling bluuugh is a major trigger for my depression and anxiety, and I would really like to avoid that over the holidays. Plskthx.
In an effort to avoid feeling like a ball of poo & depression & anxiety, I’ve decided to clean up my diet.

I have no illusions about the amount of fresh-from-the-oven shortbread cookies (oooomnomnomnomnom) going in my mouth, I know it’s still going to happen. But I am certainly going to make the effort to eat a more satisfying breakfast, snack a little less in class, and make sure I’m eating full meals when I’m not in class.

I’m absolutely not trying to lose weight, so let’s not even go there. I’m content with my body the way it is; lovely, flexible, super strong, overweight and still healthy (to my knowledge). Weight loss and anyone who says I need to lose weight “for my health” can suck it.

Moving on! Here’s my “feel better and avoid depression!” plan:

1. Drink tons of water. I am so busy at school that I completely forget to drink water. I also drink coffee, which is a diuretic, so I need to drink even more water to compensate. Water is good. DRINK IT.

2. Try to get more “wholesome” foods. I’ve been eating white bread for weeks, and I currently eat 1 piece of fruit and 1 serving of veggies per day. I have some delicious honey whole-wheat bread in the oven right meow, and my shopping list includes natural peanut butter, snacking veggies, plain greek yogurt, frozen berries and assorted fruits. Wholesome!

3. Snack less. Honestly, I ate 8 cookies on the first day we started making Christmas cookies. I also love to snack on good quality chocolate, which is bad for my 1) wallet and 2) uhhh…I’m not even sure it’s bad for my body. It could be. But most importantly, it’s $6 per bar. I can’t afford to buy a $6 bar of chocolate every few days.

4. Bring healthy, convenient snacks to school. Yogurt, fruit & cheese, veggies & hummus, my homemade granola bars (remind me to post a recipe for those bad boys), and fruit & nuts are all good options. It doesn’t even have to be delicious, since I will probably only have 5 minutes to inhale my snack. I don’t even notice what food tastes like when I’m eating that fast.

5. Eat a really solid breakfast. I’m talking PROTEIN, fat, grain, and a little sugar. If I have a satisfying, filling breakfast, I am way less likely to be munching on shortbread cookies.

6. Drink less. Maybe it’s because I’m a student and I recently acquired a Tassimo, but my coffee & alcohol consumption has jumped approximately 2000% in the last 3 months. I have a rum & Coke Zero or glass of wine nearly everyday, and coffee about 10x per week. I can realistically lower that to drinking coffee only on weekdays, and booze no more than 3x per week.

7. Remember to take my supplements! Vitamin D is very important for me during the winter months, since I literally only see the sun on weekends. Omega-3 definitely helps stabilize my moods and keep my brain feeling less frazzled.

2 comments

  1. Excellent tips, Thank you!!
    Especially the drink less, I am no longer in college but because of recent festivities and now the Christmas season (and Birthday season for me) my alcohol consumption is way up too! Heading to a wedding tomorrow, hoping to avoid drinking the all you can drink wine! Well maybe a glass or two!

    1. I’m glad you liked them. :)
      Oh boy, I don’t think I have ever passed up free wine haha. Enjoy the wedding and a little wine!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

