Kawaii Crepe.

Winnipeg has this little area called “the village”.  At least I’m pretty sure that’s what the kids call it these days.
It’s actually Osborne Village, and it’s a really cool spot.  To me, it feels almost like a piece of the Vegas strip.  There are a bunch of trendy clubs, quaint places to eat, unique places to shop, and an abundance of people dressed in weird clothes having a party on the sidewalk.

I finally got to try one of the Village’s quaint places to eat! (Actually, I’ve been to Carlos & Murphy’s.  Which is approximately 2 seconds away.  But whatever, this place specializes in crepes!)  I’ve been hearing people go on about Kawaii Crepe for a long time, so I was really excited to see what the fuss is about.

If the name didn’t give it away, the fuss is about magical, crispy crepes.  Made with things like look like wooden squeegees.

My crepe was cooked perfectly.  Hot and crispy, not too thick and not waif thin.

There are tons of filling options.  Savory & sweet crepes are available, but since we were on an impulsive “crepe run” at 11:30 p.m., I was craving something sweet.  I decided on the “It’s-a-Smore” crepe (filled with Nutella, graham crackers and marshmallows).  I also got a peach-infused green tea after sampling my friend’s.

I didn’t snap a picture of my crepe, which was stupid of me.  But it was fantastic.
A crispy crepe stuffed with melting and gooey S’more ingredients was the perfect late-night treat.  It tasted a lot like I imagine a deep-fried S’more would taste like.  I loved it!
The peach infused tea was also really good.  I hate green tea, it tastes like straight-up grass to me.  But this tea tasted like not-too-sweet peach juice, with a hint of earthiness from the green tea.  Very yummy!

I absolutely loved Kawaii Crepe.  It has a fun, cutesy vibe, it’s a great place to sit and people-watch, and my crepe & drink were delicious. I also think it’s very cool that vegan, gluten-free, and whole wheat/multigrain crepes are readily available.  Accommodating special dietary needs is always a good thing, in my opinion.

I really want to come back and try out some more crepes.  For example, “The Saigon – Marinated sirloin, cucumbers, lettuce, pickled carrots and daikon, cilantro, and spicy mayo.” Droooooooooool.

If you like delicious food wrapped up in a thin, crispy pancake, give Kawaii Crepe a try!

One comment

  1. Yum. Agreed, this place is wonderful, although I haven’t been in far too long.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

