Bake: Chocolate silk pie.

I love to daydream about complicated, extravagant sweets. The time and effort that goes into some desserts blows my mind.

However, I think when I’m a ballin’ pastry chef/bakery owner, I’m going to stick to simple, universal dishes that I know taste amazing. I would feel like an ass trying to serve some over-the-top dessert to a 9 year old who just wants something yummy.
I want my desserts to be “family friendly” and delicious.

This chocolate silk pie is a perfect example of a simple, universally fantastic dessert.
I used to love Jell-o instant chocolate pudding pies. I still enjoy them. But this pie blows anything “instant” out of the water.
The filling is super creamy and loaded with chocolate flavor, piled on top of a crunchy, lightly sweet crust. Topped with a spoonful of real whipped cream and a light dusting of cocoa for a little extra somethin’ somethin’, this pie is a perfect after-dinner treat.

Here is the recipe I used.

Ingredients

Crust:
1 cup (4 oz) pecans (I ran out of pecans and ended up using a smorg of pecans, walnuts and peanuts)
5 oz. butter/shortbread cookies. Most boxes of cookies are 10 oz., so 1/2 a box.
6 tbsp of butter, cold

Filling:
2 cups heavy cream, plus another 1-2 cups for whipped topping (if that floats your boat)
6 ounces semisweet chocolate, roughly chopped (I used a heaping 3/4 cup of chocolate chips)
6 tablespoons sugar
1 1/2 tablespoons cornstarch
6 egg yolks
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 tablespoons unsalted butter, at room temperature

To make.

Crust:
1. Preheat the oven to 350F.
2. Grind the nuts and cookies together until you have lots and lots of crumbs (I used a food processor), then add in the cold butter and pulse until mixed in. Press the mixture into a 9″ pie plate.
3. Bake for 20 minutes. Easy peasy!

Filling:
1. In a small saucepan, combine the cream, chocolate, and 3 tablespoons of sugar. Cook over medium-low heat, whisking frequently, until the chocolate melts.
2. Crack and separate the egg yolks into a bowl. Whisk until thick and pale. Add the cornstarch and sugar to the egg yolks and whisk.
3. Add 2 tablespoons of the warm chocolate mixture to the egg mixture. Fun fact: This is called “tempering” and you do it to avoid getting scrambled eggs in your chocolate pie. Whisking constantly, slowly add the egg mixture to the cream mixture. Cook, still whisking, until thickened, which can take 2-5 minutes.
4. Remove from heat. Add the vanilla and butter. Whisk until the butter melts.
5. Pour the filling into the finished crust, and lightly tap it on a counter to pop any air bubbles. Place a piece of plastic wrap directly against the surface of the filling and refrigerate for at least 3 hours. I recommend sticking the pie in the freezer. The filling is a little bit runny, and freezing makes it really creamy and delicious.
6. Top with a dusting of cocoa power and whipped cream if you want to add a little shazam.

3 comments

  1. Oooh…that looks way tastier than the cupcakes I made with my nieces last night. Yum.

    1. No way, I creeped your cupcakes. They look fun and delicious!

  2. [...] 2. Grind the nuts and cookies together until you have lots and lots of crumbs (I used a food processor), then add in the cold butter and pulse until mixed in. Press the mixture into a 9″ pie plate. 3. Bake: Chocolate silk pie. | Bake, Eat and Grow. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

