The Hunger Games.

I am a casual literary fanatic.
That means I’m only a fanatic in my head, not outwardly. I still want to blend in with society.
I get ridiculously offended when someone says Harry Potter is a fad. I know tons of Harry Potter fun facts, and am slowly becoming a Hunger Games encyclopedia. I want quotes from both series’ tattooed on my body (“expecto patronum” and a section from Rue’s Lullaby). I happily waited in line for 2 hours to see the Hunger Games on opening day, and I have a Harry Potter marathon on July 31st every year (…which is Harry’s birthday).
However, I’m still a little embarrassed about my intense HP/THG love. I keep it to myself, for the most part. And I don’t squeal at the movies. Ever. (Although I might silently flap my hands and squeal internally.)

Here are my casual-fanatic thoughts after seeing The Hunger Games yesterday.

** SPOILER ALERT.**

There were a few things I didn’t like, such as:
. The differing Mockingjay pin stories. Would it have been so hard to include Madge? I think anything would have been better than “here’s this pin. To keep you safe. Nothing can harm you as long as you have it.” That seemed way too Disney for The Hunger Games.
. Haymitch was not nearly drunk enough, nor did he fall off a stage.
. The significance of mockingjays was not explained at all, and they didn’t explain the “tracker” part of tracker-jackers. Which confused people like Jordan, who thought the insects should have been going for the trackers in the tributes’ arms.
. The discovery of the muttation dogs. In the book, Cato is running at top speed towards Katniss & Peeta, then runs right by without even trying to maim them. Then K&P see the mutts chasing him and take off running. This is one of my favorite moments in the book, and I really wish it had been incorporated into the movie. The mutts basically jump out of a bush in the movie. Boooooring.

There were a lot of things I liked though, such as:
. Getting to see the Gamemakers, and the visual behind-the-games. I thought it was really cool how we could see the tactics being used on the tributes.
. Katniss’ “thank you for your consideration”. I think that was my favorite moment in the entire movie.
. When you see the beginnings of a rebellion in district 11. That doesn’t actually happen until Catching Fire, but it really worked in the movie.
. Seeing the crowds of people in District 11 & 12 doing the 3 finger salute. It gave me chills. I was restraining myself from doing it back to the theater screen while watching the movie.

. The characters and selection of actors. Katniss, Gale, Peeta, Rue, Thresh, Cato, and President Snow meshed perfectly with the versions in my head. I LOVED Seneca Crane. You don’t hear about him much in the book, but he is a pretty prominent character in the movie, and he was awesome. I can’t wait to see Finnick Odair in Catching Fire. He’s another one of my favorite characters, and in my head he looks like Kellan Lutz.

I really enjoyed the movie. Harry Potter will be #1 to me always**, but the Hunger Games was a MILLION times better than Twilight.
I mean.. wait. What is Twilight about again?
The acting in THG was great, action sequences were good, it wasn’t overly gory, and didn’t ruin the books for me. That’s all I can ask for. I’ll happily see the movie again, and can’t wait for the rest of the trilogy.

** “Always” is a thing in both Harry Potter (Snape’s feelings about Lily) and The Hunger Games (Peeta’s feelings about Katniss), which I think is very cool. Maybe I should just combine my tattoos and get “always” on me somewhere.

3 comments

  1. Ahhh…Spoiler Alert! Had to stop reading about two lines into your likes and dislikes list so as not to ruin it. I’m impressed you waited in line for two hours – I decided to give it another week or two so that I could get good seats without sacrificing an entire evening to the theatre.

  2. Damn! I’ve never written anything like a movie review, so I don’t know how to deek around spoiling a movie. Sorry, I hope I didn’t wreck anything for you! I will definitely add a spoiler alert now.

  3. I agree with your critique. The one concept which was totally over looked that was a center piece in the books was the was that in the book everyone seems to be on the brink of starvation. I did not get that form the movie.

    Also, thirst was not even a factor in the arena.

    Still like it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

