grow: the real deal.

Watching this video of myself gave me a bit of reality check.

I felt terrible about my body after seeing this. I won’t go into details, but there is so much I am not happy with.

Since I’m a female, I couldn’t help but compare myself to a very fit instructor setting up for the same roll. In the full video, you would notice her concave hipbones as well as her extremely muscled arms and flat stomach.

I do not look healthy. I look uncomfortable. I look like I’m struggling. I don’t look like the athlete I am.
I really, really want to attempt to do something about my weight. My brain is saying “no no no no no, you know what happens when you diet!” but I can’t stop myself from considering it.

I have not put effort into trying to slim down for over a year. I can maintain my weight of 131-133 lbs without any effort, exercising regularly and eating what I want. I think losing 10-15 lbs over time is a reasonable goal. Dance and my other physical activities would be easier, I could buy clothes a size smaller, my boobs might shrink (woohoo!), I might be a little healthier and more confident.

I’m going to experiment. I know, its still a diet, no matter what I call it. But I’m going to think of it as a trial.

Length: 2 weeks.
Goal: Lose 2-4 lbs, or an inch off my waist.

If I am capable of making a small change in 2 weeks with hard work, I will continue working hard until I reach my new goal.
If I work hard and my weight/body does not change whatsoever, I will go back to my regular diet/exercise habits and be content at 131-133 lbs.

Here are some of the changes I plan to make:
. Eating less carbs. I would never cut out carbs altogether, but I definitely think I eat too many. There are days where I eat oatmeal for breakfast, a sandwich for lunch, and spaghetti for dinner. I still want to fuel my workouts, but there is no way I’m using that much energy.
. Working out like the athlete I am, adding more cardio and core strength work.

That’s pretty much it. I don’t want to waste time with calorie counting, I have decent portion sizes, I eat enough protein and fat, and setting guidelines for desserts will end in disaster. Less carbs + more workouts. Sounds simple, right?

I guess we’ll find out.

4 comments

  1. For an alternative perspective, I look at your video and think “OMG, that’s amazing. I wish I had the ability to do that.”

  2. I have a very hard time looking at myself and my skills objectively, so thanks!
    And you would be surprised at what you can accomplish after a year or two of training haha.

  3. Amazing! I wish I had that kind of body strength and agility. I couldn’t run a mile these days without ending up in the hospital…haha. I’ve got to get back on my skates and exercising again soon. Keep up the great work! You’re an inspiration!

  4. [...] two week low-carb experiment was a giant mistake. I can’t say I’m surprised. In the first week, I destroyed my [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

