Bake: DDD Chocolate Mini Cake.

Off to a good start with my yearly goals! I stuck to my blogging plan. Found a recipe, read through it on Thursday, baked on Friday, and am posting on the weekend.
Too bad I threw my original plan out the window. My original plan was to make brioche, my favorite rich and butter-y bread, but I got a little intimidated by the approx. 12 hours of rising time. Errrk.
One day, brioche. One day.

So here we go! My recipe is actually a flopped molten lava cake. You know, those wonderful little chocolate cakes that gush liquid-y chocolate when you cut into them? I made variations to the recipe, baking time, and baking pan, so I ended up with a mini cake that is dense, dark and delicious (hence the DDD). Feel free to try it out, just don’t expect gushing chocolate.

The DDD chocolate mini cake, topped with Kahlua buttercream and shaved dark chocolate.

Here’s the recipe I followed.

Ingredients:
(for 6 mini cakes)

1/2 cup unsalted butter
4 ounces good quality chocolate (I used my favorite 70% Lindt bar)
2 eggs
2 egg yolks
1/4 cup sugar
2 teaspoons instant espresso powder (I used very finely ground Starbucks beans)
2 teaspoons flour
a little cocoa, for dusting

Kahlua buttercream:
6 tablespoons butter, softened
2 cups confectioner’s sugar
1 tablespoon Kahlua
1 tablespoon cream or milk
Mix all ingredients together until smooth to make the buttercream.

To make:

1. Preheat the oven to 450F. Try not to set your smoke alarm off multiple times, like some people. Who might be me.
2. Melt the butter and chocolate together until smooth. While it’s melting, beat together the eggs, yolks, and sugar until light and thick.
3. Let the butter-chocolate mixture cool for a minute, then slowly add the egg mixture. Quickly mix in the 2 tsps of flour, just until combined.
4. Ok, here’s what you’re supposed to do.

“Combine 1 tablespoon of flour and 1 tbsp of cocoa in a bowl. Smear butter on six small molds, custard cups, or ramekins. Lightly sprinkle the flour/cocoa mixture into the molds and tap out the excess. Make sure to cover the sides of the mold, up to the top for easier removal of the cake after baking. Divide the batter among the molds.”

Here’s what I did.

Place 6 cupcake liners into a cupcake pan because you do not own any small molds, custard cups, or ramekins. Fill a little over halfway with batter.

5. Bake for 6-7 minutes. Unfortunately, I ignored this and baked for about 10 minutes. Which is probably why there was no lava in my molten lava cake.
6. Invert onto a cooling rack or plate, and let cool. I just left my mini cakes right side up.
7. Let cool before topping with Kahlua buttercream, or it will be all melt-y and slip all over the place.

I think I’ll try this recipe again, with appropriate baking times and what not. It’s a very easy recipe, and if it doesn’t work, you still get a DDD mini cake!

One comment

  1. Thanks for trying one of my recipes. The DDD “flop” looks great!
    daisy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

