grow: hot yoga experience.

I injured myself. :(


It’s a ligament injury. That means no workouts that are hard on the joints.
Necessary 10K training, for example, is out of the question for this week. Arrrrrgh.
BUUUTTT. This injury gave me the opportunity to try a less intense workout such as hot yoga. I’ve been trying to make myself go to hot yoga for like… 6 months, and I finally tried it. I am so glad I did!

Honestly, I was really anxious and nervous about it.
I don’t do well with heat, I am a total yoga n00b and I have social anxiety, so I hated the thought of 1) a room full of fabulously fit women judging my lack of yoga skills, 2) sweating buckets and 3) giving myself heat exhaustion.

I totally didn’t need to be worried.
I did sweat buckets, but it’s ok. So did eeeeeeveryone else, including the instructor and the gorgeous girl that looked like she stepped out of a Lululemon ad.
Everyone was completely focused on their own practice, so nobody paid attention if I wobbled a bit in tree pose. The instructor emphasized not comparing yourself to anyone, and to stay focused on only you, which I liked.
In regards to the heat, the only time I was really aware of how hot the room was when I was lying on the mat waiting for class to start. Your sweat does a good job of cooling you down.
On a side note: I’m not sure why, it probably has something do with your sweat, but my skin was INSANELY soft afterwards. I have mild roseacea on my arms and face, so having really soft-skinned arms is a biiiig deal to me. Awesome!

I had fun doing something new, and I’m buying a 10-class-pass. If you’re on the fence about trying hot yoga, hop onto the “tried it” side of the fence!
It’s fun. It’s sweaty. It’s a good workout. It won’t make you feel like you can’t move the next day, but you will feel some satisfying soreness.

I had my class at St. James Hot Yoga, we had a great instructor and the studio is really nice! It’s a little expensive to try a class ($18, yikes), but it’s much cheaper if you get class packages.
If it’s in your area, I would definitely recommend it.

Tips for trying your first class:

. drink loads of water. You’re going to sweat a lot, so you need to be properly hydrated before class.
. don’t eat for at least an hour before class. Whatever it is will probably sit in your stomach like a rock.
. wear as little clothing as you’re comfortable wearing. I just wore a pair of Lulu shorts and a loose tank top, and I was pretty comfortable.
. bring a couple towels. I brought a little one to stealthily wipe the sweat off my face, and a big one to lay across my mat so my feet didn’t slide all over the place.

Have you ever done hot yoga? How about regular yoga? Does the idea of doing physical activity in a 40 degree Celsius room make you want to run the other direction?

3 comments

  1. Doctor42 · · Reply

    Hey! I stumbled across your blog while writing a review for Bonfire Bistro for my food blog (which I just started a couple of days ago). I love the bake eat grow concept. Wish I had thought of it :)

    I do yoga once a week at the Yoga Centre. They’ve been around for like 20 years & they know their stuff! It’s not hot yoga but I sweat buckets during my Ashtanga class! I highly recommend trying it, I think it’s $5 for the first class.

    1. Thank you! :D
      I’ll be sure to check out your blog.

      I’ve heard of the Yoga Centre, I think I almost bought a Groupon for it lol.
      I would love to try an Ashtanga class, I probably will when my pass at St James runs out.

  2. [...] honest, I do want to look slim and trim for my tropical trip in January. But I already have tons of proof that diets and “lifestyle changes” are not for me, and it’s way too easy for me to slip back into disordered [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

