eat: Stella’s on Grant.

Haaaay readers! Hope you’re having a great week.
I am really, really going to try and post my “eats” the day I eat them, or the day after. No more of this “go out on Friday, post by Tuesday or Wednesday” bologna.

Anyways, last week’s eat was fun and light. We tried out a nearby Stella’s for dinner (the Grant location).
The weather wasn’t being ridonk, so we actually got to sit outside. It was so, so nice!
I loved the patio and setting. It was woodsy and pretty, and they even had relaxing African hippie music playing.

Very enjoyable, oddly enough.

We were served, seated and brought our food quickly. Seriously, we had food within 20 minutes of walking in the door.

Just a side note: they serve breakfast all day. Which I lovvvvve and will totally take advantage of.

Jordan went with the Stella Club:  “Crisp bacon, oven roasted chicken, cheddar cheese, lettuce, tomato & mayo” with lentil soup on the side.

He really enjoyed it. He didn’t say “BEST SANDWICH EVER” or anything, but he happily munched away on it.

I went with a veggie lasagna: “Mushrooms, zucchini, spinach, asiago, mozzarella, cottage cheese & roasted garlic marinara sauce.” And a side spinach salad.

I really liked the garlic bread. Stella’s Bakery is known for their artisan breads, and this one was really good. I love my hearty, seedy breads.

I wasn’t sold on the spinach salad. It had slices of orange and almonds, which I like, but I’m almost positive the dressing had chili powder in it.
You know, the stuff you use to flavor ground beef for tacos.
(I just read on the website that the dressing is “tangy chutney”. I’m getting the impression that it’s an Indian food/spicy condiment.)
I would have preferred a lighter, more bland dressing on the salad. I love lemon poppy seed dressing + citrus + spinach + nuts, but that’s just me.

Moving on from the bewildering salad, my veggie lasagna was pretty good. It wasn’t just “good”, and it didn’t make it quite to “really good”.
It was tasty, but I felt like it needed something. Sadly, I’m not sure what.
I liked the big hunks of veggies, it had the right amount of sauce, and the right amount of cheese. It needed a little pizazz, but I’m really not sure what could take it up a notch.

After enjoying our meals, we watched our server go to the 2 other tables in the outdoor area, but not ours, even though we were done eating.
We watched her go to the other tables 3 or 4 more times, while trying to make eye contact and trying to get her attention without making a scene. Nothing.
15 minutes later, after strolling by for the fifth time, she noticed that our forks were down and our plates were emptier.

It drives me crazy when servers take too long to clear plates. It should nottt take 5 passes to realize we’re done eating, especially when you’re only serving 2 other tables.
Had she cleared our plates after 5 minutes, we would have ordered dessert, and she would have gotten a 15% tip.
But 15 minutes later, my dessert craving was gone, and so was the “awesome service at Stella’s” review.

I’ll go back again, for sure. The atmosphere was 10/10, and the service would have been rated high if our plates were cleared sooner. Our server was friendly and knowledgeable, just inattentive near the end. Service gets an 7.5/10.

The food was pretty good, 7.5/10. I’m going back for breakfast soon, which is their specialty. I have high hopes. Don’t let me dowwwwn, Stella’s.

Price-wise, Stella’s is totally reasonable. Jordan’s meal was just under $10, mine was just under $12. For decent food and a great place to eat it, I’m fine with paying $22 for a meal.  8/10 for value.

Overall, I had a good time at Stella’s, loved the outdoor seating area, and as I mentioned, will be going back to test out their breakfasts.

Here’s a little sneak peek of my next “bake” post.

Oh baby.

Come back soon! :)

Stella's Cafe & Bakery on Urbanspoon

2 comments

  1. Whoa whoa whoa,
    I’ve been browsing your blog and enjoying it until I came across THIS! I am shocked you tipped less than 15% despite the fact that you said your service was good other than the plate clearing. 15% is a standard tip for standard service, if service is bad enough for less, you should speak to a manager, if service is better than standard you should tip more. Shouldn’t you be more cognizant of these things as a food blogger?

    1. I’m aware that 15% is a standard tip.
      To me, standard service means being somewhat attentive throughout the entire meal. Our server ignored us for 10-15 minutes at the end, which discouraged us from ordering dessert and left us in a pretty sour mood. I consider that bad service.

      I’m happy to tip more for good service, but why would I talk to a manager for something insignificant? I was still happy with the experience overall, and saw no need to get management involved.
      This is just me, but I would much rather make $1.50 less on my tip than get my ass reamed by my manager.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

