bake: white chocolate coconut bars.

I have an astonishingly awesome recipe for you guys today!
I’ve been dreaming about white chocolate and coconut ever since I saw the Brown Eyed Baker bust out these brownies, and finally whipped them up last night instead of getting cozy on the couch.

I love white chocolate. I don’t care that it’s not ‘real’ chocolate, that doesn’t make it any less delicious.
Coconut.. Is okay. I’ve never had the urge to eat coconut cream pie. I don’t even think I’ve made a treat with coconut as a main ingredient. But in this lovely little number, I loved it!

These bars are surprising (but not jalapeno-spiced-brownie surprising), sweet without making your teeth hurt, and have a nice, well-rounded flavor.
They definitely make my top 5 favorite bars (and Jordan’s too)!

Try them, you will not be disappointed. :) I need to bake them again and take better pictures foshoo .. eesh. Sorry about that.

White Chocolate Coconut Bars.
Recipe is kind of a mish-mash.
I got the idea from Brown Eyed Baker, but I modified my own brownie recipe, which is adapted from David Lebovitz’s The Perfect Scoop.

Ingredients: (for an 8×8)

1/2 cup butter
6 oz white chocolate chips
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup flour
1/8 tsp salt
1/2-1 cup of shredded coconut

To Make:

1. Preheat oven to 350, and line an 8×8 with a piece of parchment paper.
2. Melt butter and chocolate together over low heat.
3. Add to the sugars and mix. Slowly add in the eggs, one at a time, and vanilla.
4. Stir in flour, salt, and coconut, and beat vigorously for 30 seconds or so. The batter will be a smooth ball.
5. Scrape batter into the prepared pan, smooth and top with some more coconut.
6. Bake for about 30 mins. They’re done when a toothpick inserted in the middle has a few crumbs sticking to it, they’re better a teeeny bit underbaked.

They’re also fabulous chilled! Enjoy.

Coming up next: Our review of Chez Sophie, a legit French Winnipeg restaurant.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

