bake: red velvet whoopie pies.

This is my second attempt at red velvet whoopie pies, but I used a different recipe and real buttermilk this time.


Success! :D

They don’t look exactly the way I want them too, but unlike my last attempt, they’re fluffy and very tasty, and that’s good enough for me.

I started off with whisking the dry ingredients together.


Then the wet stuff.


Which I turned hot pink with red food colouring.


Mix it all togetherrrr..


And voila, it’s kind of red (thank god, because hot pink velvet doesn’t have the drama of red velvet.)

I used my brand spankin’ new cookie scoop to get somewhat uniform sized tiny cakes, and made sure there weren’t underbaked.
(I have this problem where I always underbake things because I want them chewy and dense, but on my first attempt I forgot whoopie pies are FLUFFY and not dense. Turned out much better when they were baked long enough.)


Very niiiiice!

After cooling off, I piped cream cheese filling into the middle for a nice professional look, and sandwiched the cakes.


Yuuum.

These are perfect for people who don’t like oodles of cream cheese filling, because my only problem with these was the cake-to-filling ratio.
I thought there wasn’t enough, which means it’s probably the perfect amount for normal people.
Butttt if you’re like me and like smothering everything with cream cheese icing, use more than you think is necessary.


Thanks very much to the Brown Eyed Baker for the recipe! :D

Ingredients: (for about 2 dozen assembled pies, I halved the recipe)

3 cups flour
1/3 cup cocoa
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup butter, room temperature
1/2 cup shortening
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
2 tsp vanilla
3 tsp red food colouring
1 cup buttermilk

Cream Cheese Filling:
4 oz room temperature cream cheese
4 tbsp butter, room temperature
3 – 3 1/2 cups icing sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract

To make:

1. Prep cookie sheets with parchment paper and preheat oven to 350F.

2. Whisk together dry ingredients (flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda, and salt).

3. Cream together butter, shortening and both sugars on low speed, until combined. Increase speed to medium and beat until smooth and fluffy (will be 4-5 minutes).

4. Add the eggs, beating after each one. Then add in vanilla and food colouring, beat until blended.
5. Add half the flour mixture and half the buttermilk to the batter, and beat until just combined. I used a spatula to mix, because I hate trying to clean flour off my kitchen counters, but whatever floats your boat.
Add the remaining flour mixture and buttermilk, combine. The dough will be pretty thick.

6. Using a rounded tablespoon or a cookie scoop, place balls of dough onto a prepped cookie sheet, 2 inches apart. Bake for 10 minutes, or until it springs back when (gently) poked.

7. Let cool on the pan for 5 minutes, then scoot over to a cooling rack to cool completely.

8. When the cakes are totally cool, whip up the frosting. It’s pretty simple, beat all the ingredients together, and pipe or spread onto the flat side of a cake.

9. Top with another cake, and suddenly you have a whoopie pie!

Enjoy these fun and fluffy treats!
They’re supposed to be the new ‘cupcake’ of the baking world.

What do you think is the next big baking trend? Mini pies, macarons, whoopie pies?

See you around! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

